Native American Arts Fesitval

Featuring Two Dynamic Components:


June 19 – July 2: Engaging, hands-on learning opportunities are designed for adults of all levels of experience and knowledge. Working closely with master artists and cultural specialists, you will have the rare opportunity to learn traditional and contemporary Native American art forms and gain insight into the rich cultural foundation that inspires and motivates each artist.


June 25 – July 2: Distinguished artists, scholars and cultural specialists will present exhibits, performances, demonstrations, films and the Michael Kabotie Lecture Series. Daily Native American food tastings mean there will be something to stimulate all your senses. The spirit of this annual event is to bring the scientific, intuitive and trickster voices together for a balanced and provocative learning experience. It is designed to enhance and add depth to the hands-on workshop experience.

All Festival events are open to the public.

2017 Native American Arts Festival

2017 Theme: Native American Art & Activism

The spirit of this annual Festival Week is to bring the scientific, intuitive and trickster voices together for a balanced and provocative learning experience. It is designed to enhance and add depth to the hands-on workshop experience.

The Festival Week events are OPEN TO THE PUBLIC, offering a way for those not enrolled in a workshop to learn about the most current issues and theories concerning Native American culture and art.
Native food tastings daily.


SUNDAY, June 25

6:30 pm: Presentation: TBA

MONDAY, June 26

7 pm: Gallery Talk: Guest Artists TBA
8 pm: Invitational Exhibition, Opening/Reception

TUESDAY, June 27

12-1pm: Kabotie Lecture Series, TBA


12-1pm: Kabotie Lecture Series, TBA


12-1pm: Kabotie Lecture Series, TBA
7 pm: Film Night: feature film TBA

FRIDAY, June 30

7 pm: Culmination Performance: TBA


8 am: Hopi-Tewa Pottery Firing, Mark Tahbo


Joe Baker (Delaware),
Director, Palos Verdes Art Center

Gerald Clarke, Jr. (Cahuilla), Artist, Assistant Professor, Ethnic Studies at UC Riverside

Previous Festival Guests Include

Pilar Agoyo
Dr. Lowell Bean
Nanobah Becker
Bert Benally
Max Benavides
Dr. Janet Berlo
Joanna Bigfeather
Black Eagle Singers
Dr. Tara Browner
Cahuilla Birdsingers
Gerald Clarke Jr.
Thosh Collins
Dustinn Craig
Dr. Patricia Crown
Dancing Earth/Rulan Tangen
Mike & Mique’l Dangeli
Deana Dartt
Brent Michael Davids
Kristen Dorsey
Eric Elliott
Phillip Espinoza
Chris Eyre
Gary Farmer
Yatika Fields
Lois Ellen Frank
David Gaussoin
Wayne Nez Gaussoin
Git Hayetsk Dancers
Gavin Healy
Teri Greeves
Terry Goedel
Dr. Jonathan Haas
Sterlin Harjo
Dr. Ann Lane Hedlund
Maria Hupfield
Diane Calabaza Jenkins
Tom Jones
Ed Kabotie
Michael Kabotie
Paul Kabotie
Evan Kleiman
Dr. Stephen Lekson
Jason Lujan
Dr. Victoria Levine
Ramson Lomatewama
Hank Louis
James Luna
Bill Madrigal
Duane Maktima
Ken Marchionno
Dr. Laura Marcus
Mario Martinez
Daniel McCarthy
Dr. Jessica R. Metcalfe
Patricia Michaels
Josephine and Milford Nahohai
Loretta Oden
Barbara Teller Ornelas
Michael Ornelas
Sierra Ornelas
Laura Ortman
Walter Parks
Consuelo Pascual
Shane Plumer
Eric Polingyouma
Sidney Poolheco
Dr. Charles Redman
Felicia Ruiz
Dr. W. Jackson Rushing III
Dr. Allan J. Ryan
Dr. Mari Lyn Salvador
Joe Sando
Lawrence and Griselda Saufkie
Louis Schalk
Sarah Sense
Alex Seotewa
Sean Sherman
Dr. Beverly Singer
Ernest Siva
Jock Soto
Spiderwoman Theater
Arigon Starr
Yolanda Hart Stevens
Maya Stewart
Dr. Rina Swentzell
Mark Tahbo
Patty Talahongva
David Treuer
Lisa Telford
Dr. Steadman Upham
Dr. Edwin L. Wade
David Wells
W. Richard West
Manuelito Wheeler
Dr. Wirt Wills
Steven Yazzie
Bethany Yellowtail
Nathan Youngblood
Curtis Zunigha

Special thanks to our generous sponsors past & present: Anonymous Foundation, San Manuel Band of Serrano Mission Indians, National Endowment for the Arts, Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians, Cahuilla Band of Indians, Tribal Alliance of Sovereign Indian Nations, Twenty-Nine Palms Band of Mission Indians, San Pasqual Band of Mission Indians, Chickasaw Nation, Morongo Band of Mission Indians, Soboba Foundation/Soboba Band of Luiseño Indians, Pechanga Development Corporation/Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians.